London’s boroughs

/London’s boroughs
London’s boroughs 2018-04-12T13:19:52+00:00

London’s boroughs ~ Greater London is organised into 33 local government districts: 32 London boroughs (which make up the metropolitan county of Greater London) and the City of London (which is a separate county). The City of London is commonly referred to as the 33rd borough of London

map of london’s boroughs
greater london

Greater London’s 32 (+1) Boroughs: Barnet, Brent, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow … Camden, City of Westminster, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Tower Hamlets :: Barking and Dagenham, Havering, Redbridge, Waltham Forest … Newham :: Croydon, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton … Lambeth, Southwark, Wandsworth :: Bexley, Bromley … Greenwich, Lewisham :: (+1 City of London)

[ DID YOU KNOW? London has 16 lost boroughs. These metropolitan boroughs were lost when the governance of London changed (in 1965) from the LCC (London County Council) to the GLC (Greater London Council) ]

16 lost Metropolitan Boroughs: Bethnal Green, Finsbury, Hampstead, Holborn, Paddington, Poplar, Shoreditch, St Marylebone, St Pancras, Stepney, Stoke Newington :: – :: Battersea, Bermondsey, Camberwell :: Deptford, Woolwich

london’s lost metropolitan boroughs

London’s boroughs can be separated into 4 geographical quarters namely North-west, North-east, South-west and South-east:

  • GL’s North-west Quarter – Middlesex (whole of) + Hertfordshire (tiny part of)
  • GL’s North-east Quarter – Essex (part of)
  • GL’s South-west Quarter – Surrey (part of)
  • GL’s South-east Quarter – Kent (part of)
london’s north-west quarter
london’s south-west quarter
london’s north-east quarter
london’s south-east quarter

Wild England teasers!

Answers ~

rainbow links – london’s boroughs