Wildlife Categories

/Wildlife Categories
Wildlife Categories 2018-05-30T09:44:21+00:00

This page is sponsored by

Our wildlife categories section provides information about England’s native wildlife ~ through 21 easy-to-understand wildlife categories

A children’s collection of wildlife categories 

Click onto our unique wildlife category map icons to learn more about wildlife categories

Our 18 main wildlife categories (& 3 descriptive wildlife categories) have been devised as an aid to understand how our native wildlife species have journeyed along the evolutionary pathway.

The vast majority of wildlife species are covered by our 18 categories. Interestingly some common species are not covered – these include: Amoeba, Bacteria, Centipedes & Millipedes, Hornworts & Liverworts, Sea Spiders, Sea Squirts and Springtails

England’s native wildlife ~ overview _

We also have many creatures (& plants) in England which are neither wild nor native ~ they have been introduced to this country through the ages

England’s ‘introduced’ creatures (& plants) _

Wild England teasers!

1. Why have we put 1st to 18th in brackets after our main wildlife categories shown here?

Algae (1st), Amphibians (15th), Arachnids (9th), Birds (18th), Cnidarians (4th), Crustaceans (8th), Echinoderms (12th) , Fish (13th), Fungi (2nd), Insects (10th), Lichens (11th), Mammals (17th), Molluscs (7th), Mosses (6th), Reptiles (16th), Sponges (3rd), Vascular Plants (14th), Worms (5th)

2. Wildlife is often described in terms of classification groups ~ our 18 main wildlife categories include 6 animal classes, 1 animal superclass, 1 animal multi-class, 4 animal phyla, 1 animal multi-phylum, 1 plant division, 1 plant subkingdom, 1 wildlife kingdom + 2 wildlife multi-kingdoms ~ Do you know which is which?

3. How many wildlife kingdoms are there?

Answers ~

1. In order of evolutionary appearance. 1st is the oldest type of wildlife, 18th is the most recent type of wildlife from the evolutionary perspective

2. Classes ~ Amphibians, Arachnids, Birds, Insects, Mammals, Reptiles :: Superclass ~ Crustaceans :: Multi-class ~ Fish :: Phyla ~ Cnidarians, Echinoderms, Molluscs, Sponges :: Multi-phylum ~ Worms :: Division ~ Mosses :: Subkingdom ~ Vascular Plants :: Kingdom ~ Fungi :: Multi-kingdoms ~ Algae, Lichens

3. 5 (+1) ~ traditionally biologists recognise 5 wildlife kingdoms ~ animals :: plants :: fungi :: protists (single-celled organisms) :: monerans (bacteria)……. Recent scientific discussion and debate has resulted in the recognition of a potential 6th wildlife kingdom ~ archaea (prokaryote microbes)